The Caxton Grill Review

Bonjour lecteurs! Back from a break over Christmas and I am now ready to share with you our recent visit to the Caxton Grill. Based in central London, le restaurant serves modern European food with its charcoal grill specials. We went to the elegant location just before Christmas to check out its children’s menu and more! So here is for you our very Frenchie Caxton Grill Review!

The Caxton Grill – Présentation

The Caxton Grill is located within the fameux St. Ermin’s Hotel, where we previously tested its gorgeous Afternoon Tea.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

Literally 2 minutes walk from St. James’s Park tube station, le restaurant offers its guests a selection of classic dishes, as well as premium steaks if you fancy.

The grill is also very proud to use sustainable and locally sourced ingredients so that you can enjoy some food as fresh as possible. Indeed, the restaurant has its own rooftop kitchen garden, with its homegrown vegetables.

A restaurant that cares about bringing the best for its customers in the heart of Westminster? I am in!

The Caxton Grill – L’Atmosphère

As soon as we arrived, we were charmed by the soft ambience. Decorated with elegance and good taste, the place offers some good space.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

There were some other families eating in but we still had some good privacy.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

The room is set up so that you have some good space to circulate and we could easily get in with the buggy.

We had plenty of space on our table and it was lovely decorated with Christmas crackers.

Discover St. Ermin’s Hotel Too

As the St. Ermin’s Hotel is home to The Caxton Grill and The Caxton Bar, we had a little walk around and enjoyed the features available.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

The bar is cosy with some soft lights so that you feel a bit like in a James Bond movie. Baba was eager to check out the place (moi aussi to be fair!), so we went all the way to the hotel reception.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

As always, the entrance was truly stunning with a big sleigh and Christmas trees.

The entire place is very beautiful without being pretentious. And I must say it was actually very family-friendly (as always!).

We had a lovely time in both the bar and the grill. With its comfy chairs by the fireplace, you can even enjoy some drinks while the little ones play!

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

But let’s go back to our  Caxton Grill Restaurant experience!

The Caxton Grill – The Food

The Caxton Grill prides itself to use naturally delicious ingredients. All menus offer a varied choice so that you can get whatever you fancy.

We started with some bread and mustard butter. This was already a success with Baba!

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

We also enjoyed some wines and the waiter took some time to explain each time our drinks.

We got to test the Christmas List available at the time, but the usual A La Carte Menu has a good choice of meat and fish options!

Starters

For starters, I ordered the Portobello mushroom while Grumpy Boyfriend had the Beetroot cured monkfish.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

Both arrived quickly and very well presented in large black plates. Accompanied by the right wine, each dish was a real treat!

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

Indeed, the Caxton Grill has a very impressive Wine List if yon enjoy a good drink.

Mains & Desserts

For the mains, I played it simple with roast turkey, the portion was just parfaite! I really enjoyed it and I was pretty full already! It is always a good sign!

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

My partner tested the red mullet and it was delicately cooked with its saffron sauce. Both were delicious.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

And to finish with, some Douglas fir ice cream, poached kumquats and crisp meringue. Look at the presentation of our dishes! So elegantly done!

But I was not the only one enjoying some delicious food! Baba tested the Children’s Menu on the occasion and he was aussi in for a treat!

Children’s Menu

The last time we visited the St. Ermin’s Hotel, we were amazed by its Mini Gardener Tea. Well, the Caxton Grill did not disappoint either!

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

I thought the Children’s Menu was very generous. Baba started with some crudités and hummus.

For main, he ordered a burger. It was so huge when it arrived! Served with French fries, a real treat for a champion!

And he obviously finished his dinner with some ice-cream.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

I am truly amazed by the Children’s Menu! Once more, it was like a mini adult version of a feast!

Une Anecdote

As always, I am going to be totally transparent with you! Let me tell you an anecdote.

I went to a Christmas party before our visit to the Caxton Grill. Anyway, withing the conversation, we got to talk about the restaurant and I explained to a lady that I was booked to review the place with my family soon after.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

She was quick to tell me that the food was not nice and reviews were actually quite bad. I was truly horrified! I already agreed to do a review as a family and I was actually really looking forward to it.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

Imagine how awkward it is when you are invited somewhere and it could potentially be a disaster.

Well, let me tell you something! I totally disagree with this person! We had a lovely time and the food was truly delicious! Morale de l’histoire, even if reviews can be informative (after all, this is my job!), it is also important to make your own mind up!

The Caxton Grill Review – Le Verdict

We truly enjoyed our experience at the Caxton Grill. The staff was friendly and you could see that they knew well the menu.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

Our waiter answered all questions we had regarding our drinks and food and he was also very playful with Baba! En plus, I witnessed the same attention to details with other guests.

You feel welcomed and the atmosphere is very family-friendly.

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

We had a great meal and the food was delicious! All our dishes were served quickly! The food was really amazing and actually beyond what I expected after what I was told!

Caxton Grill Review, Restaurant Review, Westminster Restaurant, Modern European Menu, Children's Menu, St Ermin's Hotel, Family Day Out in London, the Frenchie Mummy

Around Westminster and looking to make some good memories with your family? I truly recommend it!

If you like European food in some beautiful setting, the Caxton Grill is next on your list!

 

Disclosure: We were kindly invited to visit the Caxton Grill free of charge in exchange of an honest review.

87 Comments

  1. Priscilla Stubbs
    January 1, 2020 / 5:28 pm

    That looks very nice indeed, a real treat

  2. Kristyn Harris
    January 1, 2020 / 6:19 pm

    Amazing post! I would love to visit one day!

  3. Anthea Holloway
    January 1, 2020 / 6:24 pm

    What a lovely place, super food and good location too.

  4. Amanda Davis
    January 1, 2020 / 6:35 pm

    That food looks delicious

  5. Michelle Lewis-Robertson
    January 1, 2020 / 8:51 pm

    Wow I’m glad you had a better experience than expected after hearing a negative review from another person

  6. Sharon Pittuck
    January 1, 2020 / 9:13 pm

    It looks absolutely divine. 🙂

  7. natalie s
    January 1, 2020 / 9:16 pm

    Yum that burger looks amazing could do with one now 🙂

  8. Julia Kerr
    January 1, 2020 / 9:20 pm

    I love the Christmas trees and the food looks delicious

  9. Joanie S
    January 1, 2020 / 9:46 pm

    Yummy, looks fantastic – very nice indeed

  10. Theresa THomas
    January 1, 2020 / 10:17 pm

    It looks like you have been enjoying the festivities, hope you have a good Christmas

  11. Lisa Mcalley
    January 1, 2020 / 10:17 pm

    Definitely need to put this on my bucket list

  12. Pam Smith
    January 2, 2020 / 7:59 am

    The menu looks fabulous and great that it’s child friendly

  13. Marie Powell
    January 2, 2020 / 8:34 am

    It looks like you had a wonderful time, the trees are beautiful and the food looks tasty.

  14. Mrs Lorne Bedford
    January 2, 2020 / 10:47 am

    Looks awesome, perfect food and ambience. On my list of places to visit.

  15. lynn neal
    January 2, 2020 / 11:16 am

    This looks a lovely place to stop and refuel on a day out!

  16. paula cheadle
    January 2, 2020 / 12:14 pm

    I love the look of the food

  17. Susan B
    January 2, 2020 / 12:27 pm

    Ooh, both the restaurant and food look truly fabulous. Good that it is sufficiently spacious to allow room for a buggy, too.

  18. Elizabeth Cooke
    January 2, 2020 / 1:11 pm

    What a beautiful place, the ambience looks lovely (as well as the food!). Nice to see sophisticated places that are kid-friendly too.

  19. Andrea Fletcher
    January 2, 2020 / 3:47 pm

    The food looks delicious, great that it is child friendly as well.

  20. ashleigh allan
    January 2, 2020 / 4:10 pm

    Looks great – the childrens menu looks fab!

  21. James Travis
    January 2, 2020 / 4:11 pm

    Food looks delicious, that burger looks great

  22. Joanne Boland
    January 2, 2020 / 5:36 pm

    Looks lovely! Perfect for special birthdays and anniversaries ?

  23. January 2, 2020 / 6:34 pm

    Wow what a lovely place beautifully decorated for Christmas I’m glad you enjoyed it

  24. January 2, 2020 / 7:11 pm

    Looks like a lovely place to dine in wish I lived nearer

  25. Alison
    January 2, 2020 / 9:02 pm

    It’s great to hear about somewhere that is good to visit with young children. Thank you.

    • Charlotte Cauldwell
      January 3, 2020 / 8:46 am

      Wow looks incredible.

  26. Hannah wood
    January 2, 2020 / 10:26 pm

    Food looks good nice to see that is child friendly

  27. January 2, 2020 / 10:27 pm

    Looks lovely. I enjoy going places that i can take the kids.

  28. Tracy Higgs
    January 2, 2020 / 10:52 pm

    I’d definitely go for the red mullet.

  29. Tracey Hallmark
    January 3, 2020 / 12:14 am

    I’m always on the look out for new places to dine out at when we visit London this looks great thanks for the review

  30. Margaret Gallagher
    January 3, 2020 / 5:10 am

    Ooo la la what an amazing experience for you all – looks devine

  31. Susan B
    January 3, 2020 / 5:21 am

    How fab that the restaurant has its own rooftop garden. I often wonder where my food has travelled from when I eat it. Bravo to any business who takes real steps towards sustainability.

  32. Tracy Higgs
    January 3, 2020 / 5:41 am

    After hearing the lady’s negative feedback it could easily have put you off had you just been thinking of trying it, luckily you were already booked in and could find out for yourself.

  33. paula cheadle
    January 3, 2020 / 6:38 am

    It looks like it is a child friendly place to go

  34. Gaynor Vincent
    January 3, 2020 / 7:42 am

    The food in the Caxton GFrill looks so mouth watering – totally yum

  35. AnnaSSS
    January 3, 2020 / 7:57 am

    Thank you for post. It looks like great place to stop by with children. Burger look testy and Christmas tree is beautiful. Very nice, indeed.xxx

  36. January 3, 2020 / 8:21 am

    It all looks absolutely fabulous. X

  37. Fiona jk42
    January 3, 2020 / 10:57 am

    I’m glad your experience was better than that of the person you spoke to. Every place can have an off day, so it sounds as if that person’s bad experience was not necessarily representative.

  38. Patricia Avery
    January 3, 2020 / 3:36 pm

    Looks and sounds great. Nice that its really family friendly too

  39. Mel Pennie
    January 3, 2020 / 4:48 pm

    Looks lovely, and the food sounds delicious ?

  40. January 3, 2020 / 5:01 pm

    Great to hear another positive review in a posh restaurant where staff understand children and have suitable kids menus. Having researched and tried different restaurants in London, the good ones for children are hard to find!

  41. Ruth Wollerton
    January 3, 2020 / 6:00 pm

    Wow this looks a lovely place.

  42. Hayley Todd
    January 3, 2020 / 6:57 pm

    What a beautiful venue!

  43. Ritchie Dee
    January 3, 2020 / 7:06 pm

    That’s a brave restaurant having white and grey furniture!

  44. Elaine Skye
    January 3, 2020 / 7:14 pm

    Looks amazing, the Christmas decorations are beautiful.

  45. Rebecca Beesley
    January 3, 2020 / 7:14 pm

    looks like a beautiful place to visit for a meal!

  46. Claire Ginn
    January 3, 2020 / 8:21 pm

    This looks amazing, count me in please

  47. Deborah Weston
    January 3, 2020 / 9:13 pm

    Looks lush

  48. Nadia Josephine
    January 3, 2020 / 10:30 pm

    I love that the Baba loves hummus! My niece wouldnt touch the stuff!!

  49. paula cheadle
    January 3, 2020 / 11:03 pm

    food looks delish

  50. Deborah Clarke
    January 4, 2020 / 4:37 am

    Wow looks absolutely stunning. The perfect festive treat. Has made me hungry though lol

  51. Rebecca Mercer
    January 4, 2020 / 7:43 am

    The food looks delicious

  52. Tracy Gladman
    January 4, 2020 / 8:46 am

    Looks lovely. Sounds amazing.

  53. Jillanne David
    January 4, 2020 / 9:22 am

    Looks lovely

  54. Amy Jo mclellan
    January 4, 2020 / 10:26 am

    Good to hear you enjoyed your visit – especially after you’d essentially been warned off by someone else! Photo looks good!

  55. paula cheadle
    January 4, 2020 / 11:27 am

    Their food looks like a wonderful piece of art on a plate

  56. Denise walton
    January 4, 2020 / 12:17 pm

    Looks and sounds amazing

  57. Lisa Mcalley
    January 4, 2020 / 1:55 pm

    This is unusual and looks good

  58. Jo McPherson
    January 4, 2020 / 1:57 pm

    Looks like a beautiful place, and the food looks delicious

  59. Evette Williams
    January 4, 2020 / 2:16 pm

    The food looks lovely and a beautiful place

  60. Maria Jane Knight
    January 4, 2020 / 4:27 pm

    Looks lovely!!! Great to see they do kiddies meals too.

  61. Charlotte isobelle
    January 4, 2020 / 7:41 pm

    The food looks lovely

  62. Rosalind Blight
    January 4, 2020 / 8:07 pm

    Those trees are absolutely amazing. Food looks good too

  63. Orange23
    January 4, 2020 / 9:03 pm

    It looks amazing, the food looks delicious

  64. Diana
    January 4, 2020 / 9:57 pm

    Food looks amazing!

  65. Emma Gough
    January 4, 2020 / 10:56 pm

    everything looks so delicious! what a lovely treat 😀

  66. Samantha Jane
    January 5, 2020 / 1:29 am

    Looks gorgeous! Food looks amazing x

  67. Sarah Roberts
    January 5, 2020 / 1:53 am

    Looks fabulous! Food sounds amazing and love the decor!!

  68. paula cheadle
    January 5, 2020 / 7:43 am

    If this place was nearby where I live I would go

  69. Leanne Pearson
    January 5, 2020 / 9:07 am

    The food looks gorgeous but I would just go for the trees!!!

  70. Susan B
    January 5, 2020 / 11:15 am

    This looks so good that I found myself checking the tube map for easiest transport route.

  71. Daphne Monk
    January 5, 2020 / 11:36 am

    Too far away for me

  72. paula cheadle
    January 5, 2020 / 12:29 pm

    I would love to have a meal here

  73. Antonia Richardson
    January 5, 2020 / 2:27 pm

    the food looks so yummy

  74. Hannah Rowley
    January 5, 2020 / 2:43 pm

    Wow the food looks amazing!!

  75. renata122
    January 5, 2020 / 6:27 pm

    I will put this in my bucket list!!!

  76. renata122
    January 5, 2020 / 6:45 pm

    Such an amazing place!!!

  77. Sally Collingwood
    January 5, 2020 / 8:11 pm

    Wow, this looks fabulous!

  78. john prendergast
    January 5, 2020 / 9:09 pm

    the food looks delicious

  79. Gemma Hendry
    January 5, 2020 / 9:49 pm

    looks fantastic and so tasty, ill have to visit one day

  80. Carol Thomas
    January 5, 2020 / 11:26 pm

    Its certainly a must go too, the next time we are in London. I really enjoyed reading about your experience

  81. paula cheadle
    January 6, 2020 / 12:41 pm

    It looks like a wonderful place

  82. natalie s
    January 6, 2020 / 6:05 pm

    Thanks for the review. Def looks like it’s worth a try for me and the family!

  83. Gaynor Vincent
    January 7, 2020 / 5:59 am

    You always managed to make a head band look good – i keep trying!

  84. Catherine S
    January 7, 2020 / 6:13 am

    It looks as though you had a fabulous time. The food looks delicious and I especially love the Christmas tree.

  85. YOLANDA DAVIS
    January 7, 2020 / 10:01 pm

    It looks delicious but it’s a bit far for me to travel to.

  86. Adrian Bold
    January 8, 2020 / 1:04 pm

    Looks great, and that burger looks delicious! Makes me hungry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.