Baker Days Cake Review and GIVEAWAY! – Or 1 reason why Frenchie Mummy doesn’t bake!

As I said earlier this week, Monday was my birthday and I celebrated turning 31 years old! I normally don’t have a birthday cake. I feel a bit too old for this kind of stuff and I would rather have some champagne and a lot of very expensive presents instead!

But when Baker Days contacted me to review their product, I jumped on the occasion to have a cake and feel like a little girl again!

Being on holidays the week before, I arranged it to be delivered just after our return. Baker Days didn’t disappoint me indeed. It was in the letter box just the Saturday before mon anniversaire. No need to say how difficult it was to resist not opening it before THE DAY. Sweets things and I are usually not very good friends. They tend to hate me because all I want to do is eat them up ?.

Now, let’s get on with this Baker Days Cake! I have to admit that I was surprised at first (and a bit sad?) about the size of the cake as it was quite small. However, it’s the concept of this type of product called the 5” Letterbox Gift. As its name says, the cake can fit in a letter box. Eventually, it happened to be the right size for Grumpy Boyfriend and I. A bigger one would have been too much and we would have thrown it away. I don’t like wasting. So it was perfect for us!

So now, let’s check out le gateau:

I immediately fell in love with it. I have never ever eaten something with my face (and Baba as well!) on it. When I ordered it, I asked to have the pic of our blog and the message ‘Joyeux Anniversaire’ in French. That’s the beauty of the service offered by Baker Days. Your cake is personalised and you can pretty much ask whatever you want! If you fancy something different, you can also order cupcakes. You have a great choice of flavours and sizes, not to mention the themes possible! Check out their website. There is no way you can’t find something to be happy with!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
So much choice, so many possibilités sucrées!

 Baba wanted to look for himself as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Come on Maman! Let me try it!

The baby eventually got his hands on it!

He even had a little tiny taste! Frenchie Mummy wanted him to be part of the fun!

His face says it all: happiness! Look, he even has his hands on the tin.

Screenshot_3
This cake is mine Maman!

Baba also had great fun with the little gifts included.

Et le goût? Well, it tasted nice, especially with some champagne! We ordered a classic vanilla sponge with buttercream frosting, topped with a thick white icing. The cake was actually light and the size was perfect for both of us. It was just perfect for our little party and it wasn’t too sweet either. There is nothing worse than feeling bloated after having eaten cake…

Le verdict:  you will have understood that we all loved our Baker Days Cake. Here are 7 reasons why you need to check it out:

  • It’s a great idea for a personalised gift. Especially for your friends and family living far. It’s a nice and simple way to say that you are thinking of them
  • You have a great choice of designs, flavours, ingredients and sizes
  • Their website is very easy to use and you can download your own picture(s)
  • The delivery is fast and efficient (a next day delivery is possible)
  • The cake stays fresh, up to 14 days. We couldn’t wait that long because I was too impatient to try it. But it seems like the cake would have been nice even later on in the week
  • Prices are very good, starting at £14.99
  • The cakes are delicious!

If you are interested and I convinced you to try it, go and check out Baker Days website or their Social Media pages: Facebook and Twitter.

Tweet: Come and read our Frenchie posts at http://ctt.ec/miPCb+ #pbloggers #MummyBloggers via @FrenchieMummy

Disclosure: Baker Days kindly provided us with this complimentary cake for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own and Baba’s.

Now, it’s time to win your own cake! Enter our fabulous first Frenchie Competition to have a chance to win your personalised Baker Days cake!

 1858

It’s here! Off we go for a chance to get a fabulous gateau! The picture above is just a very Frenchie example, but you will be free to design it yourself!

Click on the link and all yours! The competition runs from 05/08 12am to 19/08 12am.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linkyethannevelyn
A Cornish MumYou Baby Me MummyThe Pramshed
Rhyming with WineMy Random MusingsPink Pear Bear
Family FeverMy Random Musingsbrummymummyof2
 Mummy Fever - Share With MeBest of WorstBrilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking SundayPetite PuddingMummascribblesRachelSwirl

66 Comments

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 5, 2016 / 7:54 am

      Merci, thank you for reading x

  1. Mouse, Moo and Me Too
    August 5, 2016 / 10:09 pm

    Oh happy belated birthday for Monday! Joyeux Anniversaire…is that right? Trois et une, is that right too?! The cakes look fab – I’m reviewing one soon and I can’t wait. The photo has transferred really well onto this one and Baba looks gorgeous as always. #fabfridaypost

  2. August 6, 2016 / 7:25 am

    Happy birthday! Hope you had a fabulous day! #fortheloveofBLOG

  3. August 6, 2016 / 7:53 am

    Wonderful design! I have seen many reviews of Bakers Cake. They looks so delicious! Baba certainly looked like he’d enjoyed the cake too! Yummy! Thank you for linking up with us on #FabFridayPost

  4. August 6, 2016 / 8:43 am

    Happy birthday lovely! Love the picture on your cake – we had one too and thought it was delicious and a great birthday idea 🙂 #fabfridaypost

  5. Mrs Morgan Plus 3
    August 8, 2016 / 7:03 am

    Happy belated birthday, this cake looks lovely and your son is gorgeous!! #fartglitter x

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 8, 2016 / 7:28 am

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment! xxx

  6. islandliving365
    August 8, 2016 / 8:20 am

    I seem to be stalking you on linkies today! Whoops! I love a bakerdays cake. You can’t beat cake in the post 🙂 #BigPinkLink

  7. Nige
    August 8, 2016 / 9:12 am

    Happy birthday hope you had a fab day great giveaway love a bit of cake #fartglitter

  8. Agent Spitback
    August 8, 2016 / 11:09 am

    Happy belated birthday! We always have cake for birthdays here – it’s compulsory! The Baker Days Cake do make lovely presents. Thanks for sharing with #bigpinklink

  9. August 8, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    We reviewed one of these a while back, so good aren’t they? We got the chocolate one and is was amazing!! Hope you had a nice birth day xx #Fartglitter

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 8, 2016 / 2:56 pm

      Nice time, I will get the chocolate one for sure! xx

  10. RaisieBay
    August 8, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    I love your cake 🙂 I like the concept of getting a cake in the post but I also like baking them myself, I’d be interested to try one. Belated happy birthday x

  11. August 9, 2016 / 7:09 am

    Such a great idea for a special occasion. #TriedYTested

  12. August 9, 2016 / 7:20 am

    Happy Birthday, we’ve had a Baker Days cake before and I was suprised with the quality #tried&tested

  13. August 9, 2016 / 11:20 am

    Happy Belated Birthday! Love these cakes! xx
    #TriedTested

  14. August 9, 2016 / 12:39 pm

    Cake? Did someone say cake? I’m there!! Happy belated birthday – I’m sure the lovelycake made up for it! #TriedTested

  15. August 9, 2016 / 4:39 pm

    I reviewed one of these cakes a couple of years ago. They are yummy. And I love the photo on yours #triedtested

  16. Suburban Mum
    August 10, 2016 / 10:14 am

    Ahh I hope you had a lovely Birthday – the cake looks great! We reviewed one a while back and they are the perfect size and so tasty! #PicknMix

  17. August 10, 2016 / 10:15 am

    Happy belated birthday! Haha baba’s expressions are too cute.xx #wickedwednesday

  18. Colette B
    August 10, 2016 / 11:24 am

    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

  19. August 10, 2016 / 11:30 am

    Happy birthday! The cake looks cool and it’s nice that you enjoyed it ? #bloggerclubuk

  20. August 10, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    Haha love the “cake is mine” photo ? #wickedwednesdays

  21. August 10, 2016 / 6:30 pm

    Ooh happy belated birthday lovely! You know how much I love a cake and these Baker Day treats look sensational! My only issue would be holding back from stalking my postman out of the sorting office once I’d ordered it. This rhymer does not like to wait for cake! 😉 Thanks for linking with #fartglitter x

  22. August 10, 2016 / 8:29 pm

    aww I have reviewed one of these before and I really enjoyed it. They are such a good idea, look fab and taste great! The baby looks like he is loving it!! Great pics. Hope you had a fab birthday and thanks for sharing with #bestandworst x

  23. August 10, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    I reviewed one of these before. They are fabulous. Well the kids said so, and devoured it!

    How could you cut it with that picture on it!! ?

    #bigpinklink

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 10, 2016 / 9:47 pm

      I had no choice! Both Baba and I could not resist…x

  24. Rambles, Rants, Writings
    August 11, 2016 / 12:20 am

    Your cake looks amazing! You should defo have cake every year lol. Great review of Baker Days, looks like Baba enjoyed himself! #BloggerClubUK Janet 🙂

  25. mackenzieglanville
    August 11, 2016 / 3:32 am

    You and me at cake! How adorable is your baby!!!!! Cute overload! #anythinggoes

    • mackenzieglanville
      August 11, 2016 / 3:33 am

      Oh I adore when I press ‘post comment’ and then actually read my comment to see I have written something that makes zero sense. It should have said “You HAD me at cake!”

  26. Lou
    August 11, 2016 / 8:47 am

    The cake looks great and most importantly was delicious!! A great review #Brillblogposts

  27. August 11, 2016 / 10:54 am

    Ooh, baker days are great – we had a Christmas cake from them, it was yummy! Great pictures #WickedWednesdays

  28. August 11, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    What an interesting idea…a cake through the post! I can see it would make great personalised gifts… I certainly wouldn’t mind one! #bloggerclubuk

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 11, 2016 / 3:05 pm

      Fantastic! xx

  29. randommusings29
    August 11, 2016 / 3:56 pm

    Happy belated Birthday 🙂 I reviewed a Christmas cake for Baker’s Days. I love their cakes, they taste fab, and Baba certainly seemed pleased with the gifts 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #AnythingGoes 🙂
    Debbie

  30. The Pramshed
    August 11, 2016 / 6:48 pm

    Happy Birthday! What great time to be able to try the Bakerdays cakes! We have also tried them, and they are fab. I agree with you that they are a little on the small size, but they need to fit through your letterbox. Baba looks like he really enjoyed it, was that his first bit of sugar? I loved the smell when opening the tin, in fact just reading your post made me recall it. I will definitely be entering your competition. Thanks so much for linking up a second post at #fortheloveofBLOG this week. Claire x

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 11, 2016 / 9:18 pm

      That would be great as it’s my first competition. I was quite worried about doing one but it’s ok in the end. Thank god for that. xxx

  31. August 11, 2016 / 7:53 pm

    We’ve had one of these before, they are lovely. Happy birthday. You are the some age as me. thanks for linking to #PickNMix

  32. mummyfever
    August 14, 2016 / 7:37 am

    Happy Birthday! Thanks for linking to #sharewithme

  33. August 14, 2016 / 4:08 pm

    I have seen lots of reviews for these and I like that they are letterbox size. I have also entered the competitions to win one lots too, but haven’t yet. I will try again. Belated happy birthday. Hope you had a lovely time.
    Amanda #kcacols

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 14, 2016 / 4:16 pm

      Thanks for reading and your lovely comment. I hope you will win xx

  34. August 14, 2016 / 4:51 pm

    Popping back again for #KCACOLS – Still loving that cake! xx

    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday

  35. James Hopes
    August 14, 2016 / 5:31 pm

    Anything involving cake is good for me!! It’s worth being a blogger if you end up getting free cake out of it!! #KCACOLS

  36. Squirmy Popple
    August 14, 2016 / 7:22 pm

    We really enjoyed our Bakers Day cake – I ordered one with a shirtless Ryan Gosling JUST BECAUSE I COULD. #EatSleepBlogRT

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 14, 2016 / 8:17 pm

      I should have done that!!!! Thanks for reading x

  37. August 14, 2016 / 7:42 pm

    Happy belated birthday! I’ll be reviewing a Baker Days cake soon and can’t wait. From what I’ve seen on other blogs, the cake tastes good. #EatSleepBlogRT

    • thefrenchiemummy
      Author
      August 14, 2016 / 8:17 pm

      They do, enjoy! Thanks for stopping by x

  38. August 15, 2016 / 9:33 am

    Cute! Thanks so much for linking up to Wicked Wednesdays. I hope you are having a wonderful summer! See you this week! x

  39. Sarah@teammomlife
    August 15, 2016 / 4:33 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday Rachel! I always think these cakes are such a great idea. #KCACOLS

    • Sarah@teammomlife
      August 15, 2016 / 4:35 pm

      Sorry that was supposed to say Happy Birthday Frenchy Mummy!

  40. Allan Fullarton
    August 16, 2016 / 4:17 pm

    Happy birthday! Hope you had a fabulous day

  41. Rachel (Lifeofmyfamilyandme)
    August 17, 2016 / 11:22 am

    Baker Days cakes are delicious aren’t they! Thanks for linking up to #EatSleepBlogRt

  42. Petite Pudding (@petite_pudding)
    August 18, 2016 / 7:48 pm

    Ahhh loved my Baker Days Cake – I still have dreams about that icing… Lovely picture on yours 🙂 #EatSleepBlogRT

  43. August 19, 2016 / 6:26 pm

    Ah I did like my Baker days cake. Although I mistakenly out my son on it and I didn’t want to cut into his face. Whoops. Glad you enjoyed and happy belated birthday xx #KCACOLS

  44. August 22, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    They look awesome, thanks for linking up with #TuesdayTreasures.

  45. Heather Cain
    February 23, 2017 / 9:20 pm

    a belated Joyeux Anniversaire and I have to say that le bebe looks fab with his new haircut!!

    This cake tin is fabulous

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.